The Association for Women Faculty and Professionals invites nominations for the Mary Turner Lane Award, which recognizes a woman who has made an outstanding contribution to the lives of women on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus.  Nominees must be active employees of the university at the time the nomination is made; employees who are in phased retirement are eligible


AWFP presents The Mary Turner Lane Award annually.  “Outstanding contribution” is interpreted broadly, touching all areas of the lives of women (students, faculty, staff, administrators) on campus. It includes, but is not limited to, achievements that enhance women’s lives through the following: scholarship, teaching, leadership, health services, social services, political activism, professional advancement, program development, and staff support.

Nominations should describe the “outstanding contribution” of the nominee, including the nominee’s actions, the impacts of those actions, and the people benefited.  (No more than 200 words.)

Nominations are due Monday, April 3, 2017 by 5pm to

If you have questions about the award or nomination process, please e-mail Clare Counihan (

 About the award

Mary Turner Lane

The award, established in 1986, is named to honor Mary Turner Lane, founding director of the Curriculum in Women’s Studies and the first recipient of the award. Sadly, Mary Turner Lane passed away in 2009.


Past Recipients

Fall, 2015 – Connie Eble

Spring, 2015 – Dr. Marcey Waters

2014  –  Lynn Williford (see article in University Gazette)
2013  –  Jacquelyn Dowd Hall
2012  –  Catherine Marshall
2011  –  Adaora Adimora
2010  –  Etta Pisano
2009  –  Laurie McNeil
2008  –  Elmira Mangum
2007  –  Jan Boxill
2006  –  Diane Kjervik
2005  –  Bernadette Gray-Little
2004  –  Linda Dykstra
2003  –  Sue Estroff
2002  –  Anne Dellinger
*  –  Marsha Collins
*  –  Noelle Granger
1997  –  Laurie Charest
1996  –  Jane Brown
*  –  Carol Reuss
1994  –  Barbara Harris
*  –  Margaret Anne O’Connor
1992  –  Laura Gasaway
1991  –  Beverly Whitaker Long
1990  –  Shirley Weiss
1988  –  Judith Wegner
*  –  Mary Ellen Jones
*  –  Patricia Wallace
1986  –  Mary Turner Lane
    *date unknown