Increase font size
Decrease font size

2014-15 Officers

President:  Sue Coppola

Clinical Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, School of Medicine

Sue Coppola joined the UNC Faculty in 1996. At UNC she coordinates fieldwork for occupational therapy (OT) students, and teaches about older adulthood, perspectives on disability, and OT practice. Her interests are focused on meaningful occupations in older adulthood, interdisciplinary teamwork, and building global connections in OT and disability. Sue serves as the USA Delegate to the World Federation of Occupational Therapists (WFOT) and as the WFOT  Programme Coordinator for Research.  Favorites: swim-bike-run with friends, bookclub books, being in the woods, admiring craftwork, and occasionally making a quilt.

Vice President: Christi Hurt

Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, Student Affairs Director, Carolina Women’s Center

Christi Hurt is the Interim Director of the Carolina Women’s Center. Christi is a Carolina alumna, graduating in 1993 with a BA in History and in 1998 with a Master of Public Administration degree. She has been a lifelong advocate for women, with extensive experience in organizational development and leadership transitions. She has worked on the local, state, and national level in nonprofit organizations that advocate for an end to violence against women. For over nine years, she worked with the Washington Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs in Olympia, Washington. She also worked for the Orange County Rape Crisis Center, on whose Advisory Board she now serves. She lives in Chapel Hill with her partner, two children, and a very loud dog.

Treasurer:  Jennifer Willis

Director of State Relations, Office of the Chancellor

Secretary: Connie Walker

President and General Manager, WUNC Radio

Connie Walker has been President and General Manager of North Carolina Public Radio – WUNC since March of 2009. Connie started at WUNC in 2005 as news director and served as interim program director from July, 2008 until moving into the GM role. North Carolina Public Radio covers most of central North Carolina and also reaches much of the Outer Banks. The station produces two national programs, “The Story” with host Dick Gordon, and “The People’s Pharmacy”. WUNC has three news bureaus and produces an hour long weekday talk program focused on North Carolina issues, “The State of Things”.Connie previously worked at Wisconsin Public Radio for 17 years. She was a reporter, an on-air host, and then News Director. Connie also served as President of Public Radio News Directors Incorporated from 2001 to 2005. Connie has received many reporting awards from journalism organizations and the programming staff at both WPR and WUNC also have received numerous awards under her direction.

Immediate Past President: Amanda Hughes

Director of External Affairs, Ackland Art Museum 

Web Manager: Anne Whisnant

Deputy Secretary of the Faculty, Office of Faculty Governance

Adjunct Associate Professor of History and American Studies

Anne Mitchell Whisnant joined AWFP in the fall of 2006, just after coming to UNC as the first Director of Research, Communications, and Programs for the Office of Faculty Governance. As the only woman in a small office, she gave an immediate “yes” to her invitation to attend the fall 2006 AWFP reception. She found AWFP’s embrace of both faculty and administrative women especially appealing, as she straddles those boundaries in her own professional life as an administrator in an office that deals with faculty issues and a scholar who continues to do research, publish and teach in the field in which she received her Ph.D. from Carolina in 1997 — American history. In 2006 UNC Press published her book, Super-Scenic Motorway: A Blue Ridge Parkway History. Anne and her husband also do historical consulting work for the National Park Service. She is the mother of two sons and is pleased recently to have (re)learned to ride a unicycle!

Board Members, Terms Ending 2015

Connie Eble

Professor, English and Comparative Literature

Connie Eble has been the English department’s linguist since 1971.  Her research interests in the historical development of the English language focus on English in the USA, particularly American college slang.   She has enjoyed a long career of active participation in professional organizations and has served as the president of the Southeastern Conference on Linguistics, the South Atlantic Modern Language Association, the Linguistic Association of Canada and the United States, and the American Dialect Society.  She is currently a member of the board of the Dictionary Society of North America.  She was a founding member of the Association of Women Faculty when it was drawn up in Mary Turner Lane’s living room three decades ago and has twice served on the Board.  University service has included Chair of the Humanities Division and membership on  Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure; Faculty Executive; Athletics; Grievance; and the Administrative Board of the Graduate School.  In May 2012, she was honored to be named Friend of the Royster Society of Fellows. She is a native of New Orleans (with a recent article on words for food there) and is an active parishioner at the Newman Catholic Student Center and Parish.

Amanda Hughes

Director of External Affairs, Ackland Art Museum 

Connie Walker

President and General Manager, WUNC Radio

Jan Johnson Yopp

Walter Spearman Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Dean, Summer School (Academic Affairs)

Jan Yopp is a professor in the School of Journalism and Mass Communication and dean of Summer School. She has taught a variety of skills courses from newswriting to reporting to public relations writing and focuses creative activity on language, writing and editing. She advises the Carolina Association of Black Journalists. She has written three books, including the co-authored text, Reaching Audiences: A Guide to Media Writing, heading into a sixth edition. She has been a coach for the multimedia, award-winning News21 project in the School, an educational, motivating experience that brought her full force into the digital age—essential to keep up with students today.

Board Members, Terms Ending 2016

Sue Coppola

Occupational Therapy, School of Medicine

Rhonda Gibson

Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Mass Communication

Jackie Overton

Training Specialist, Department of Public Safety Transportation & Parking (Pending Candidate)

Jennifer Herrera Willis

Director of State Relations, Office of the Chancellor

Board Members, Terms Ending 2017

Brandi Brooks Davis

Director of Young Alumni Giving Programs, Office of University Development

Sue Estroff

Professor, Social Medicine
Adjunct Professor, Anthropology and Psychiatry

Christi Hurt

Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, Division of Student Affairs

Director, Carolina Women’s Center

Tanya Shields

Associate Professor, Women’s and Gender Studies